Buddy

How much does CGC grading cost in 2026?

Every CGC Cards tier with its price, value cap and wait, the postage and extras on top, and what a CGC slab sells for next to a PSA one.

Updated 9 min readPrices checked on cgccards.com

Three Base Set cards, Charmander, Squirtle and Bulbasaur, each in a graded slab labelled 10.
Grading is charged per card, so the tier and the size of the order set most of the bill.
On this page
  1. The short answer
  2. Prices by tier
  3. Turnaround
  4. Costs on top of the fee
  5. Membership
  6. One card, all in
  7. Pristine vs Gem Mint
  8. CGC vs PSA resale
  9. When to pick CGC
  10. Questions

The short answer

CGC grading costs $17 a card in Bulk (25-card minimum, cards worth up to $500) or $20 in Economy (up to $1,000), with waits of 150 and 90 working days. Standard is $55 for about 10 working days. Return postage starts at $25 an order, so one card sent alone lands near $60 to $70 all in.

$17Cheapest CGC tier, 25-card minimum
10 daysStandard turnaround at $55
$25Return postage for 1–5 cards

Those figures are from cgccards.com on 21 October 2026. CGC moved Bulk to $17 and Economy to $20 on March 24, 2026, up from $15 and $18 in January, so guides that still quote $15 a card are out of date. All prices here are for US submissions by a free Collector member.

How much does CGC charge per card?

CGC charges a flat fee per card from $17 to $300, and the tier you can use is set by the card’s value. Here is every grading tier on its card fee page.

  • Bulk (25-card minimum)CheapestUp to $500 · 150 days$17
  • EconomyUp to $1,000 · 90 days$20
  • StandardUp to $3,000 · 10 days$55
  • ExpressUp to $10,000 · 5 days$100
  • WalkThroughUp to $100,000 · 2 days$300
  • Unlimited ValueUp to No limit · 2 days$300 + 1% of value
  • Jumbo cardUp to No limit · 120 days$20
CGC Cards’ published US grading fees for collector members, checked 21 October 2026. Turnaround is CGC’s current estimate in working days.

The Bulk minimum is 25 cards per order, and you can mix games and card types to reach it. For Express, WalkThrough and Unlimited Value you mark every side of the box with EX, WK or UV in large letters, or the order sits in the slow queue. CGC’s page doesn’t list a handling fee for cards; it dropped its old $5 fee when CGC Cards launched in July 2023.

What does the value cap mean?

It’s the most the card can be worth to stay in that tier. If CGC decides a card’s fair market value is higher than you declared, it moves the card up a tier and bills you the difference. Declare what the card will sell for at the grade you expect, not what it’s worth raw.

How long does CGC grading take?

From 2 working days in WalkThrough to 150 in Bulk, with Economy at 90 and Standard at about 10. These are CGC’s current estimates, not promises, and CGC updates them as its queues grow and shrink, so check the fee page on the day you send.

  • The clock starts on delivery. CGC counts working days from the day the box arrives, so add your shipping time on both ends.
  • Holidays don’t count. National holidays and the Fridays before big conventions aren’t working days.
  • New cards can take longer. Cards that aren’t yet in CGC’s database may run past the estimate, which matters for a set that just came out.

Standard is the standout. At $55 for about two weeks, it’s cheaper than PSA’s slowest open tier, Standard at $59.99 and 90 to 100 business days. Our PSA grading cost guide has every PSA tier for comparison.

What does CGC charge on top of the grading fee?

Postage both ways is the main extra. CGC publishes its return rates, which few graders do, and they start at $25 an order.

Shipping to CGC

You pay to send the box to CGC Cards in Sarasota, Florida, and CGC says you’re responsible for getting it there safely. Its packing guide asks for each card in a sleeve and a semi-rigid holder, the stack between two pieces of cardboard, then bubble wrap and a sturdy box. Insure it with your carrier: CGC’s insurance covers the return trip.

Return shipping

Return postage is one charge per order, set by the number of cards and the total declared value. Up to $5,000 it goes FedEx Ground with no signature; above that CGC adds a signature and, past $50,000, overnight delivery. Returns are insured up to $100,000 a package in the US.

  • 1–5$5,001–25,000 $35 · $25,001–50,000 $90$25
  • 6–25$5,001–25,000 $40 · $25,001–50,000 $95$30
  • 26–50$5,001–25,000 $45 · $25,001–50,000 $105$35
  • 51–100$5,001–25,000 $50 · $25,001–50,000 $110$40
  • 101–300$5,001–25,000 $65 · $25,001–50,000 $135$55
CGC Cards’ US return shipping rates by order size and declared value, effective August 5, 2025, page updated January 12, 2026. Checked 21 October 2026.

You can use your own shipping account instead, but CGC then charges $4 a shipment and doesn’t insure the package.

Does CGC offer subgrades?

No. CGC stopped offering subgrades in July 2023, saying fewer than 5% of submissions asked for them, and its current fee schedule lists no subgrade option. A CGC slab shows one grade. If you want the grade broken down, Beckett prints four subgrades on the label and TAG’s report scores each category front and back; see our Beckett grading and TAG grading guides.

Crossover, reholder and other add-ons

  • CrossOver: send a PSA, Beckett or SGC slab and pay the normal tier fee. By default CGC only cracks it if it expects the same grade or higher; if not, the card comes back in its old slab and the full fee still applies. Write “Cross at any grade” to have it slabbed regardless.
  • ReHolder: $10 a card, about 20 working days, for a card still in its original CGC or CSG holder. The grade doesn’t change.
  • Custom label: the tier fee plus $8. Pedigree: the tier fee plus $5.
  • Error cards: no extra fee, but you must request it for any card with a printing error.
  • Pre-grading: CGC’s card fee page lists no pre-grade or review service, so the crossover rule is the closest thing to a minimum-grade option.

Do you need a paid CGC membership?

No. The free Collector membership lets you submit at the full prices above. Paid tiers take 10% or 20% off grading, but not off shipping or reholders.

  • CollectorEnough for mostOff grading None · Extras Can submit to CGCFree
  • AssociateOff grading 10% · Extras Also submit to NGC and PMG$39
  • PremiumOff grading 10% · Extras $150 credit with CGC$159
  • EliteOff grading 20% · Extras $150 credit, drop-off and pick-up$329
CGC membership tiers from its join page, checked 21 October 2026.

The math is simple. Associate pays for itself once you spend $390 a year on grading: about 23 Bulk cards or 20 in Economy. A single 25-card Bulk order saves $42.50, just over the $39 fee. Premium’s $150 credit covers most of its price if you grade enough to use it.

How much does it cost to grade one Pokémon card with CGC?

About $60 to $70 for one card sent alone in Economy. Here is the sum for a modern ultra rare you expect to sell for under $1,000 graded. The grading fee and return postage are CGC’s published rates; the postage to CGC is our estimate.

Economy grading fee$20.00
Sleeve, semi-rigid holder, boxabout $3
Postage to CGC (estimate)$12–20
Inbound insuranceoptional
Return shipping, 1–5 cards up to $5,000$25.00
All in, before any upcharge$60–68
One card in CGC Economy, free Collector member, mailed from the US. Fees checked on cgccards.com on 21 October 2026; postage to CGC and supplies are estimates.

Postage is most of that bill, so the cost per card drops fast as the order grows. Using the same estimates for postage to CGC:

  • 1 card, StandardOrder total about $95about $95
  • 1 card, EconomyOrder total about $63about $63
  • 5 cards, EconomyOrder total about $140about $28
  • 25 cards, BulkLowestOrder total about $475about $19
Estimated all-in cost per card by order size, free membership. Fees and return rates from cgccards.com; postage to CGC estimated.

What’s the difference between CGC Pristine 10 and Gem Mint 10?

Both are 10s, but Pristine is the rare one: flawless under 10x magnification with 50/50 centering, and it gets its own Pristine 10 label. A Gem Mint 10 looks perfect to the naked eye but falls short of Pristine on one thing, usually centering.

  • Pristine 10Own labelFront 50/50Back Not stated
  • Gem Mint 10Front 55/45Back 75/25
  • Mint+ 9.5Front No number givenBack No number given
  • Mint 9Front 60/40Back 90/10
  • NM/Mint 8Front 65/35Back Not stated
  • NM 7Front 70/30Back Not stated
  • Ex/NM 6Front 75/25Back Not stated
CGC’s published centering limits, front and back. Checked on CGC’s grading scale page on 21 October 2026; grades 7 and 6 checked 10 October 2026. “Not stated” means CGC gives no back limit.

For a Gem Mint 10, CGC also wants corners that look perfect to the naked eye and pass as Mint+ under 10x, and a surface free of print spots with full gloss. CGC gives half grades, including the 9.5 that PSA doesn’t, so a card with one tiny flaw can land on 9.5 instead of dropping to 9. The PSA grading scale guide shows how PSA handles the same card.

The gap between the two 10s is where the money is. Few cards measure 50/50, and those few points are the difference between a Pristine label that outsells a PSA 10 and a Gem Mint 10 that sells for less than half of one.

How much is CGC worth compared to PSA?

Less, unless it’s a Pristine 10. On two of the most graded modern cards, a CGC Gem Mint 10 sold for 42% to 45% of a PSA 10, while a Pristine 10 sold for about 1.3 times a PSA 10.

  • UngradedUmbreon ex 161/131 (Prismatic) $1,021$329
  • PSA 10BaselineUmbreon ex 161/131 (Prismatic) $4,825$1,381
  • CGC Gem Mint 10Umbreon ex 161/131 (Prismatic) $2,188 (45%)$584 (42%)
  • CGC Pristine 10Umbreon ex 161/131 (Prismatic) $6,300 (131%)$1,813 (131%)
PriceCharting prices from completed sales, as checked for our best grading company guide on 21 October 2026. Percent is of the PSA 10 price.

Pristine 10s can carry a card to the very top of the market. A CGC Pristine 10 Gold Star Rayquaza from EX Deoxys sold for $1,020,000 at Fanatics Collect on August 28, 2026, the first English Pokémon card past $1 million and, per CGC’s population report, the only Pristine 10 copy. Our list of the most valuable Pokémon cards has the rest of the record sales.

Now put the fees against it. Take the 151 Charizard ex, worth $329 raw. Graded alone in CGC Economy for about $63, a Gem Mint 10 at $584 leaves about $520 before selling fees, roughly $190 more than selling raw. The same card at PSA for about $100 all in leaves about $1,280 as a PSA 10. If the card has a real shot at a 10, PSA’s bigger fee usually pays; if it’s more likely a 9 or 9.5, CGC’s small fee loses you far less.

QuestionCGCCheapestPSATAGSGCBeckett
Cheapest tierBulk / EconomyStandardBaseStandardExpress
Per card$17 / $20$59.99$39.95$50$79.95
Card worth up to$500 / $1,000$1,000$500$1,500Not verified
Wait150 / 90 working days90–100 business days60 business days40+ business daysAbout 15 business days
CatchBulk needs 25 cardsValue tiers paused5-card minimum, no scoreHighest cap at the priceCheaper tiers paused
Cheapest open tier for a standard-size card at each grader, from each company’s site on 21 October 2026. Beckett from secondary sources.

When is CGC the right grader?

When the fee matters more than the label: cards for your own collection, mid-value cards likely to land on a 9 or 9.5, cards you need back fast, and the rare card with true 50/50 centering.

  1. Collect cards you’ll keep. At $17 to $20 a card, CGC is the cheapest way to protect and authenticate a binder’s worth of cards.
  2. Grade cards that won’t be 10s. If a 9 or 9.5 is the likely result, CGC’s fee is a third of PSA’s, so there’s less to lose.
  3. Pay for speed at Standard. $55 for about 10 working days is less than PSA, SGC or Beckett charge for anything close to that speed.
  4. Send near-perfect centering. A card that measures 50/50 front and back has a shot at Pristine 10, which outsold PSA 10s on the cards above.
  5. Send likely PSA 10s to PSA. For a card you’ll sell with a real chance at a Gem Mint 10, a PSA 10 sold for more than twice a CGC Gem Mint 10 on the cards above.

Before you send anything, check the card is genuine, or you pay postage both ways for nothing. Our guide to spotting a fake Pokémon card covers the checks. For the bigger picture, see whether grading Pokémon cards is worth it, the best grading company for Pokémon cards and where to get Pokémon cards graded.

Questions people ask

How much does it cost to get a Pokémon card graded by CGC?

On 21 October 2026 CGC charged $17 a card in Bulk with a 25-card minimum, $20 in Economy and $55 in Standard. Return postage starts at $25 an order, so one card sent alone costs about $60 to $70 all in.

How long does CGC grading take?

CGC’s current estimates are 150 working days for Bulk, 90 for Economy, about 10 for Standard, 5 for Express and 2 for WalkThrough. The count starts when the box arrives, and CGC says the times aren’t guaranteed.

Do you need a membership to submit to CGC?

You need an account, but the Collector tier is free and submits at full price. Paid memberships cost $39 to $329 a year and take 10% or 20% off grading fees, not shipping.

Is CGC cheaper than PSA?

Yes. CGC Economy is $20 a card against $59.99 for PSA Standard, and CGC Standard returns cards in about 10 working days for $55. A PSA 10 usually sells for about twice a CGC Gem Mint 10, so the cheaper fee doesn’t always leave you with more money.

Is a CGC Pristine 10 better than a PSA 10?

On the modern cards we checked, a CGC Pristine 10 sold for about 1.3 times a PSA 10. It needs 50/50 centering and no flaws under 10x magnification, so very few cards get one.

Can CGC regrade a PSA slab?

Yes, through CrossOver at the normal tier fee. By default CGC only reslabs the card if it expects the same grade or higher, and you still pay the fee if it doesn’t cross.

Sources

  1. CGC Cards, Services and fees, CGC grading tiers, add-ons and ReHolder (checked 21 October 2026)
  2. CGC, CGC Updates Bulk and Economy Tiers for Card Submissions, March 10, 2026 (checked 21 October 2026)
  3. CGC, CGC Announces Revised Services and Fees, December 9, 2025 (checked 21 October 2026)
  4. CGC, Shipping Your Collectibles To / From CGC, return rates updated January 12, 2026 (checked 21 October 2026)
  5. CGC Cards, Shipping your cards to CGC (checked 21 October 2026)
  6. CGC Cards, Join CGC: membership tiers (checked 21 October 2026)
  7. CGC, Submit to CGC with only a free membership, January 2024 (checked 21 October 2026)
  8. CGC Cards, Grading scale (checked 21 October 2026)
  9. CGC, Let’s Go! CGC Cards Now Accepting Submissions, July 11, 2023: subgrades and handling fee dropped (checked 21 October 2026)
  10. CGC, CGC-certified Rayquaza Gold Star Realizes More Than $1 Million, September 2, 2026 (checked 21 October 2026)
  11. PriceCharting, Charizard ex #199 Pokémon 151 sold prices by grade (checked 21 October 2026)
  12. PriceCharting, Umbreon ex #161 Prismatic Evolutions sold prices by grade (checked 21 October 2026)
  13. PSA, Trading card grading service levels and prices (checked 21 October 2026)
  14. TAG Grading, Pricing (checked 21 October 2026)
  15. SGC, Card grading services and pricing (checked 21 October 2026)
  16. CardGrade.io, BGS grading cost: Beckett prices from its order form (secondary; checked 21 October 2026)

Buddy is independent and isn’t affiliated with PSA, CGC, Beckett, TAG, SGC or The Pokémon Company. Fees and prices change; we re-check them when we update a guide.

Check your next card before you send it off.

Buddy grades from two photos by the rules of PSA, CGC, Beckett, TAG and SGC, checks for fakes, and shows what it sells for.

Your phone

One email the day Buddy is on the App Store. Nothing else. Privacy policy

More guides